You must set the ad_network_ads_405.txt file to be writable (check file name as well).
decap brine shrimp [Archive] - Guppies.com

PDA

View Full Version : decap brine shrimp

j30167
February 3rd-2010, 11:26 AM
I ordered decap brine shrimp from Kens, I read the directions it said to rehydrate in water for a few mins, I noticed alot of them just sank to the bottom of the glass. I stired them up a few times but most sank. Do you feed the ones that sank or just the ones that stayed suspended. This is my first time trying them not sure

jeff@zina.com
February 3rd-2010, 02:34 PM
Feed them all. Assuming there's a current in the tank, they usually stay suspended pretty well. Make sure you use a very small amount, they go a long way.

Jeff

BostonBreeder
February 3rd-2010, 05:03 PM
It really isn't necessary to rehydrate them. Even my fry gobble them right up. I am surprized more people on here aren't talking about these (and Golden Pearls) more. It is so much easier than BBS and makes them grow just as fast. One thing though. I always feed flake a few minutes before. These eggs will run right through them otherwise.

copper
February 3rd-2010, 05:30 PM
Boston breeder, I agree with you , golden pearls and decap brine shrimp ,are great fish foods, but there is NOTHING that matches newly hatched brine shrimp. I will tell you why, there is something in the way that newly hatched brine shrimp swim that ignites a predator instinct in baby guppies. This instinct is so strong , that they have to attack the baby brine shrimp , and they will consume baby brine shrimp even when they are not hungry. It will entice them to the point they will gorge themselves. I too feed flake food just before I feed them baby brine shrimp and even though they just ate they will stuff themselves and fill up on baby brine shrimp. I only do this with young fish ,you do not want grown male guppies to overeat.

cheyanneglenn
February 4th-2010, 03:31 PM